PREP GIRLS BASKETBALL: Shoup-Hill Joins Exclusive Elkhart County All Star List | Sports

INDIANAPOLIS – This week, recent Goshen graduate Brynn Shoup-Hill represented Indiana State as Indiana’s basketball star. She was one of 12 senior girls from The Hoosier State selected for the honor.

Its week of exhibition games kicked off Wednesday against the Indiana Junior All Stars. Shoup-Hill finished with five points and three rebounds in 12 minutes of action as the seniors edged out the juniors, 94-69, at Brownsburg High School in Indianapolis.

After a Friday game against the Kentucky All Stars in Owensboro, the week culminates for Shoup-Hill on Saturday with the second Indiana-Kentucky game, it is played at Southport High School in Indianapolis. Kick-off for the Girls’ Game is 5:00 p.m., with the All-Star Boys Game to follow shortly thereafter.

Regardless of her performances this week, Shoup-Hill made history by becoming the first Goshen basketball player to be selected as an Indiana All Star. Only two boy players had received such an honor in the past: John Ritter in 1969 and Andrew Hershberger in 2003.

Shoup-Hill also joins an exclusive Elkhart County basketball club and Goshen’s news coverage area to be named All Star. In total, 14 athletes from the New coverage area and a total of 27 Elkhart County athletes wore the state’s colors against Kentucky. The only two non-Elkhart County basketball players in Goshen’s news The coverage area to be selected as an All Star was Shanna Zolman of Wawasee in 2002 and Charlie Yoder of Westview last season.

Here is the full list of athletes Shoup-Hill is joining this weekend:

Elkhart Memorial, 4 girls and 3 boys (7 in total): GIRLS: Erica Jackson 1989, Jada Buggs 2010, Akyah Taylor 2011, Brionna Barnett 2012; BOYS: Rom Smith 1974, Loren Littleton 1980, Daimon Beathea 1991

NorthWood, 5 daughters: Heather (Smith) Brenner 1992, Natalie (Will) Leeper 1999, Amy Zercher 1999, Carol Duncan 2002, Jordyn Frantz 2015

Concorde, 4 boys: Shawn Kemp 1988, Jamar Johnson 1990, Jeff Massey 1991, Shawtes Gary 2005 (Note: Jim Hahn was also the team’s head coach in 1991)

Elkhart (pre-split), 4 boys: Ray Ball 1951, Dennis Tepe 1956, Ted Luckenbill 1957, Garvin Roberson 1970

Elkhart Central, 3 boys: Dan Glanders 1979, James Scott 1999, Derek Drews 2005

Goshen, 2 boys (excluding Shoup-Hill this season): John Ritter 1969, Andrew Hershberger 2003

Northridge, 1 boy: Aaron Thomas 2000

Wawasee, 1 daughter: Shanna Zolman 2002 – Miss Basketball

Westview, 1 boy: Charlie Yoder 2020 (could not play in the game due to the COVID pandemic canceling the game)

Jimtown, 1 daughter: Kim Barrier, 1986 – Miss Basketball

Source link

About Ronda Reed

Check Also

With Key Players Returning, Louisa County Women’s Basketball Team Goals for Second Consecutive State Title | Sports

Louisa goalie Olivia McGhee (0) brings the ball onto the field during a game against …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *